Urshan Board Selects New President

Joshua illustrates God’s unending goodness despite difficult circumstances, and the promises found in the New Testament speak of the Lord’s ability to make all things possible. We are privileged to carry the very presence of God, and there is therefore no limit to what we can do in his strength. I John 2:27 says, ‘But as for you, the anointing (the sacred appointment, the unction) which you received from Him abides [permanently] in you.’ Courage isn’t the absence of fear; it’s moving forward when you feel afraid. And, if we will do that, God will lead us straight through our fears into His perfect will. It never ceases to amaze me what God will do through a person who simply steps out in faith. Bishop David K. Bernard (founding president) has been the epitome of that powerful truth during his many years of leadership on this campus.

I also commend Rev. Jennie Russell for her excellent leadership as Interim President. Her professional expertise, strong presence, and humble spirit have stabilized the Urshan System during this critical transition. As previously planned, she will continue on as Executive Vice President.

We now look forward to the future. November 8, 2018 the full Urshan Board appointed Dr. Brent Coltharp based on his senior ministry experience and academic background to be the 2nd president of the Urshan System. The Presidential Search Committee, which was comprised of faculty, alumnae, and board members, unanimously recommended Dr. Brent Coltharp for the presidency. Dr. Coltharp is an author, teacher, and the lead pastor of First Apostolic Church of Aurora. He also currently serves as the Illinois District Superintendent. Dr. Coltharp brings a unique combination of ministerial experience and scholarship. He has a Doctorate of Strategic Leadership, Masters in Biblical Studies, and Masters in Clinical Psychology.

President-elect Coltharp will take office officially on January 1, 2019. Please join me in welcoming Dr. Coltharp and his family to the Urshan Community!

Dr. Janet Trout

Chair of The Urshan Board